Creating a lens, blogging rights and Apple news

I’m going to tell you about something that I bet you have not heard of before. Have you heard of a lens? Not the eyeglass kind but the web kind? A lens is yet another free web resource out there like blogs, wikis, forums and podcasts. A lens is a single web page that you create on a specific area of expertise. On your lens you would create links to websites on that topic. You could also include links to blogs, wikis, forum and podcasts. Your lens should be a good place for people to start when looking for information on a topic… not the final place but the starting place.

I found out about lenses while looking at a blog on one of my favorite TV shows The Office. The blog owner started a lens on The Office in which he give links to other websites and blogs on the show.

If you have a lot of interest or knowledge on a topic you would create a lens at Squidoo. If you have a blog or wiki on that topic be sure to include the link on your lens.

Looking for some legal information on blogging? The EFF: Legal Guide for Bloggers is a nice resource and it’s free. The Electronic Frontier Foundation makes this information available on their website. Topics include liability, protection and intellectual freedom.

The EFF also provides a link to the Blogger’s FAQ on Student Blogging. Topics on this page include free speech, public/private school blogs and student newspapers.

I know I’m Applecentric but I can’t help myself because I love those Macs. I, of course, now want a MacBook Pro. Since I have an iBook (G3) with a new battery I cannot justify purchasing a new Mac but I am keeping the idea in the back of my head. The MacBook Pro comes with iLife, iWeb, Front Row, a backlit keyboard, iSight (built-in camera) and the Intel Core Duo. I would be happier with one more USB port but I can live with two. After I hold several bake sales I will let you know what happens.

2 Responses to “Creating a lens, blogging rights and Apple news”


  1. 1 Melissa March 28, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    You are going to shoot me. I am typing on my new MacBook Pro. I was up for a computer this year and finally convinced Sue that I could use a Mac for work! I m going to teach the iLife series this summer at the ISD. We purchased 10 iBooks for classes. We are having a Kid’s Tech summer camp again and I hired someone to teach iLife.

  2. 2 Judy Hauser March 28, 2006 at 11:30 pm

    I am megajel! It must be great!–>


Leave a Reply

My book is now available!

March 2006
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Pages

Judy’s Twitter Feeds

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


