Dictionaries – Is it just me?

I am a touch obsessed with looking up the meaning of words (if only I could actually remember those meanings so that I didn’t have to look them up more than once). I love dictionaries – paper, electronic and website formats – and I sometimes wonder if that is something that many librarians have in common – I foresee a survey in the future!

I have a paperback of the Oxford American Dictionary next to my couch, the American Heritage Dictionary on my Palm TX and, of course the every handy and wonderful merriam-webster.com at my fingertips. What can I say except “busman’s  holiday.”

palm200.jpg

1 Response to “Dictionaries – Is it just me?”


  1. 1 ggwfung January 26, 2007 at 3:01 am

    you take it a bit deeper, and you start getting into etymology – the origins of words. All the latin and greek components, prefixes like an-, un-, pre- and so on.

    It’s a journey that goes deeper and deeper, with more and more to dig out.

    Enjoy!

    ggw


Leave a Reply

My book is now available!

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Pages

Judy’s Twitter Feeds


